One Day It Was Clear.

I turned hills into mountains

Wandering in my young time

And I’d sleep by where the moss grows

To put the ugly years at bay

And if you saw me now

I’d turn winter into spring.

 

When I lived in the halls,

I used to catch a bus

To the station to see the lights

And I learned to walk the wind

I broke into sweat one day

And watched kids grow up.

 

I dreamt about a black smoke fire

Still can remember it now

And the ripping of the paper sheets

When dad finally left the office

If you could see me now,

I’d turn paper into machè.

 

A good days work ran out

After a week or so

And I heard that you’d been writing

Thought I’d give it a go

That was a week of raincoats

And you turned the rain to sun.

 

I promise you sit on my minds throne

Narrow Racket became our alley

And a woman came and sat beside me

Like you’d see in some European movie

Slipped me a stopwatch, said ‘not now, then when?’

And I made a church of your hands and lips.

 

That day, the bus never name,

And I have to play music to remember.

1 comment
  1. Your poem opens my heart and engenders the true reasons
    to love poetry.

Leave a Reply

