Ailments and People.

Leave me alone, you ailments and people

And push me away from your golden steeple,

Let the rays pour back in

Because I’m starting to feel well again.

 

If this is such a world of pain

I don’t think I’ll see hell again,

I could be wrong and I’m found on the floor

But I’m starting to feel well once more.

 

From bedsit to my Costa Rican boat

I can appreciate the letter you wrote,

American pancakes and visits to Ben

I’m beginning to feel better again.

 

Come friendly bombs and rain on Hull,

The place with all the beautiful souls

See Betjeman was hardly condemning Slough,

And I’m starting to feel normal now.

 

I could be wrong and I’m found on the floor,

And like every movie you can’t open the door

But I found a new lease on life in the pen

Now that I’m starting to feel well again.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

